Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Cuban Restaurants

Default Cuban Restaurants

As a fan of authentic Cuban cuisine (having visited Havana 10 times), is Little Havana worth a visit or am I better off sticking to De Rodriguez and Asia de Cuba (Mondrian)....I have yet to find a Cuban restaurant in the States that wows me, which surprises me given the greater accessibility to more resources. If Little Havana restaurants are nada de particular, is the area still worth visiting or not really.
    RR33139 likes this.

Default Re: Cuban Restaurants

I'd scrap the pursuit.

What you're getting at the Mondrian is probably the same crap you get at Bongos.

I'm not an expert on Cuban Cuisine but what probably distinguishes it from the fungible potpourri of Latin flavors is the Cuban Sandwich and the Ropa Vieja.

Skip Mondrian and hit Puerto Sagua on 7th & Collins when you get a chance. It doesn't get more complicated than that.

Unless you can speak fluent Spanish and look Cuban, I'd skip visiting Little Havana and stay in the touristy areas with their Cuban restaurants. I don't know if Little H even has tourist restaurants. Plus it's not the best of areas to visit.

sounds good....I'll look for my Cuban Coffee ( I recall someone said on this forum Whole Foods or Publix has some good Americanized Cuban Coffee for sale, as does a lunch place/cafe in SoFi) and be the one in the Yankee hat smoking the Cohiba (legitimate one) walking around SoBe for the month of May.

sounds good....I'll look for my Cuban Coffee ( I recall someone said on this forum Whole Foods or Publix has some good Americanized Cuban Coffee for sale, as does a lunch place/cafe in SoFi, and Puerto Sagua) and be the one in the Yankee hat smoking the Cohiba (legitimate one) walking around SoBe for the month of May.

You should angle and pursue a Colombian " fritanga" instead.