Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    New User

Default How prevalent is Cuban/anglo interracial dating?

Hello all! Newbie here with a question:

Is interracial Cuban/white dating common in Miami/Southern Florida as say, Mexican-American/white dating in the Southwest and California?

I am a sociologist and wanted to know.

Thanks!

I never really thought of Cubans as being in a separate race from whites, really. Most of them are from the same European stock as many "white" people. Spain is next to France, after all, and Italy is just as Latin. My closest Cuban friend in Miami is of Spanish heritage and is whiter than I am, and I'm Scots-Irish! I know many consider those of hispanic origin to be of a separate race, but I don't really get it.

I'm a Colombian-American born and raised in Miami. All my life I assumed I was White and I was Hispanic.

I knew some kids in school who were black and Hispanic.

And I knew some kids who where white and non-Hispanic as well as many non-Hispanic blacks.

When I moved to Arizona after returning from a two-year stay in Europe, I was immediately informed that I was no longer white because I was Hispanic.

I was told they could make an exception for me because my dad was a white American, but I would have to disown my Colombian heritage in order to get my white card.

So I said fuck that and signed up with the Hispanics. Literally, as they make you choose when you fill out certain forms.

Before I knew it, I was a card-carrying Raza member.

Down here, fortunately, it's not so black and white. It is understood that race and ethnicity are two separate items.

What many would refer to as "whites", we would refer to as "Anglos".

That is not an accurate term either because this includes all white people who don't speak Spanish, regardless if they are descendants from England, as the name Anglo suggests.