Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
    New User

Default Any good fitness centers in South Beach? - Want to work out on vacation

Are there any good health clubs/fitness centers/gyms in the Collins Ave. area? I really need to stay on top of my "game" while in South Beach for a week and need somewhere to workout at. I realize I could run,etc..along the beach, however I am a manager at a fitness center out of state and would like to attend some fitness classes,etc...at a different type of facility.

Thanks!

Equinox Fitness on 5th and Collins is the nicest, best facility in the beach. I know you can buy day passes there, but I'm not sure how much they run. Barack Obama was working out there last time he was in town.

Crunch on 12th and Washington is good too. There are a variety of smaller gyms in the area too, but these two are the nicest. Also, which hotel are you staying in? Some of them have extensive gyms that are very nice.

New User

Great Thanks! We're staying at Dezerland Resort and Spa. What's the scoop on it?

The one around 83rd street? I stayed there a few years ago - it's not a bad place, but nothing fancy, either. Clean, slightly outdated decor.

I just liked that it was good rates for an ocean-front room.

Hi aerofit, if you're staying at the Dezerland, you'll be nowhere near South Beach! You're actually in Surfside.

The Dezerland has a really kitschy Russian-shvitz style spa with some clunky fitness machines. There's also some yoga classes. There is a gorgeous running path starting at the hotel that goes all the way to Bal Harbour and right next door is a park with a fitness trail.

Here are a couple of gyms in North Beach -

Extreme Gym
    230 71st St
    (305) 866-8664

This one is closest to the Dezerland -

Island Fitness
    9448 Harding Ave
    (305)993-4111

Suzanne C

Hey Aerofit.

I've heard* the David Barton Gym is tight.

*I'm not a gym fan and prefer to exercise outside.