Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By tmtheu97

Thread: Moving to Miami in May

New User

Default Moving to Miami in May

Hi there. My husband and I are moving to Miami in May and we are looking for a safe place to live. He has a job in west Miami (152nd street) so we are looking at Kendall and possibly Coral Gables. We don't have kids, but we have 2 dogs and would really like a house (not apt. or condo). I have already seen the map that someone else posted (thanks!), but does anyone have any other advice? Also, I am a teacher and I have no idea as far as where to start applying for teaching jobs. We are not able to travel to Miami in advance to look for places, we will just be coming into town with all of our stuff and have to find a job. Thanks in advance!

Default Re: Moving to Miami in May

There are several schools in Kendall, and everything in Kendall would be cheaper than Coral Gables. Coral Gables also has strange regulations, like houses can not be painted certain colors, and a pickup truck can not be parked outside a house in Coral Gables as a permanents residents transportation unless the bed of the truck is covered, or it is in a car port, or garage. However in Kendall you are further from the beach. They each have their perks. The Gables are beautiful, strict, and expensive. While Kendall is more laid back not as beautiful to drive through but cheaper.

What subjects do you teach Stef? Dylan is right. Coral Gables is very centralized but quite expensive, with complex regulations (more so than other places). Kendall is a large suburban area, with plenty of traffic jams. SW 152nd Street is quite south, so I'm not sure Coral Gables would work, distance wise.

New User