Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
    New User

Question Need honest info on South Miami!

I'm a 19 year college student planning on moving from Texas to somewhere in Miami this July. Just started recently looking for apartments and I was able to find the Sunset Club apartments in South Miami. It seems like a great location since it's close to a nearby Metrorail station(not gonna have a car for a while), 1 mile away from my dream school(UM!), and the rent is affordable(825 a month), but the only issues I have now really is how is the crime rate in the area plus would I have trouble communicating with local residents due to not being able to speak Spanish. I have no trouble learning Spanish and am currently enrolled in a college course as well, I just want to be something that could hold me back from job opportunities. My budget is going to be tight, but I'm sure enough I will be able to manage with what I'll have. Any help/suggestions will be greatly appreciated. PS: I also tried looking for the nearest MDC campus and I'm guessing Kendall, FL is close to South Miami. This will be the school I'll be attending before I transfer to UM in 2013. Thanks.

Default Re: NEED Honest info on SOUTH MIAMI!

South Miami is a good area to live. It is walkable and friendly, and if you are near the metro rail that is an added bonus.

MDC also has a campus downtown and as you don't have a car it may also be easier for you to get to this campus on the train. Government Center is only about 7 stops away and would take 15 minutes journey time.

rk

I'm not familiar with those specific apartments, but the area should be OK. It is close to a somewhat shady area.

I see there are some reviews of the apartments at this link in case you have not see it:

http://www.apartmentratings.com/rate...partments.html