Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Hoppie

Thread: Single 21 Female relocating from NY to Miami - where to live?

New User

Default Single 21 Female relocating from NY to Miami - where to live?

Hi everyone,

I'm a recent college grad from NY and have worked a few months here in NY but am completely tired of NY and the high cost of living here and am looking to make a move to Miami. I'm hoping to get a few detailed suggestions about good areas to live.

Ideally, I would like to live on South Beach but coming from NY, I am a new driver and would not have a car right away. I would need to get to work without a fairly long commute and would probably have to utilize public transportation in the beginning. With that said, living in SoBe is probably not the best scenario. I have been looking into the Brickell area but would like a little more info. I know this is the financial center but how is the nightlife here beside the usual after work happy hour. Is this a pedestrian friendly location for going to the grocery etc. I'm looking to spend around $1500/mo for rent.

I have been looking into Coral Gables as well but I am hearing that the neighborhood is more family oriented ...any thoughts/suggestions are appreciated!
    Thanks!

Default Re: Single 21 Female relocating from NY to Miami - where to live?

Hi and welcome to 411

Well a lot depends on where you will be working. Do you have a job lined up for when you move? It is a lot better to live near where you work in Miami, as while public transport is good to get to the mall, it is harder to reply on it for a daily commute.