Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree33Likes

Thread: Looking to relocate from Los Angeles to Miami

Default Looking to relocate from Los Angeles to Miami

Hello Miami!
    I'm a single middle-aged female seeking to relocate to Miami in late October. I'm a business professional in the hospitality industry, no children, no pets. I am also fluent in Spanish and fairly comfortable with the Latin American culture prevalent in Miami.
    I will be working in South Beach but I do not want to live in that area.
    Can anyone suggest a nice neighborhood? I prefer an area with people like myself (i.e other professionals who relocated from somewhere else), but will consider all areas that are safe and have easy access to the main freeways.
    My budget is up to $ 2,000 a month for a one bedroom apartment, and I would love a nice place with all the amenities, maybe one of the hotels with residences?
    Any and all suggestions are welcome, particularly from people who moved from LA!
    Thanks in advance.

Gus
    Somewhere between South Beach and South Miami

Default Re: Looking to relocate from Los Angeles to Miami

Hi housemusic, welcome to Miami Beach 411. Thanks for introducing yourself and posting your question here.

I relocated from Los Angeles to Miami in October of 2000 and have been very happy since. The two cities have enough similarities to make the transition feel comfortable, and enough differences to keep it interesting. In my opinion, the vibe in South Beach and Venice Beach are kind of alike. In LA, I lived all over the city,. starting in Toluca Lake, and then to Hancock Park, Beverly Hills, and Nichols Canyon, before moving here.

Have you considered Coconut Grove, or the norhern part of Miami Beach?.. Those are both nice areas to live, with good amenities, and close enough to South Beach to make the commute bearable.