Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Blackford Oakes

Thread: Just turned 40, single, and new to Miami

New User

Default Just turned 40, single, and new to Miami

Hi All! I've been reading this thread for tips and suggestions, but I wanted to post to see if anyone has any additional thoughts. . .

I'm new to Miami from Los Angeles, single professional, 40, and living in Coconut Grove. I'm really liking Coconut Grove, but having trouble finding new friends. I'm not so much of a club girl, and I've tried meetup. Does anyone have any other suggestions? Its a bit intimidating for a new person in town. . .

Thanks in advance for your thoughts!
    Last edited by LAGirlinMiami; 02-20-2013 at 07:03 PM.

Default Re: Just turned 40, single, and new to Miami

Hi LA Girl! Welcome to the forums!

I know it can be hard to make friends when you first move. I moved here without knowing anyone also. I made friends through exercising, such as yoga class and the gym, so I'm not sure if you work out but that's alwas a good start. In fact, y favorite running store is in Coconut Grove, and they have a runners club you could join? It is called The Florida Running Store.

If that isn't your thing, I also met people in local bars. But I mean, middle of the day, Montys kind of vibe, not late night at the college bars.

The Grove has a great library where you may find new friends.

Plus maybe we will host another meet up, it's been quite a while since 411 did that.

Hi LAGirlinMiami! Meetup.com worked great for me when I relocated in Miami. I also found a great church in Coral Gables where they organized events and dinners for everyone.

I feel like Jess has a great idea, when I used to spend a lot of time in Coconut Grove I met tons of people, that seems like a great location to get to know people both inside places, and outside as well, it's a nice area with a lot of outdoor activities.