Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
    New User

Default Nice Apartments in South Miami

Greetings,

I'm going to be moving to Miami this summer and I'm trying to find a nice apartment complex in the South Miami area. So far, my search has only turned up apartments with poor ratings and many complaints. The Red Road Commons seem to be the exception, but they are out of my price range. I'm going to be a grad student at FIU living alone, so I'm looking for a relatively quiet 1br or studio for under 1200/mo. The Valencia apartments are not an option, they have no free units until September. I'm from the northeast originally, so I'm not too familiar with Miami, other than a few short visits and the research I've done online. Does anyone know of any apartments in this area that may be a good fit for me?

Thanks in advance!

New User

Default Re: Nice Apartments in South Miami

I'm also a grad student at FIU. I assume you are going to have a car. The apartment complexes are bad news down here, especially for someone on a graduate student budget. They have very high up front fees and you need to have $3000 cash if you want to move after 1 year when they inevitably jack up your rent. South Miami is nice but isn't a very popular place for FIU grad students. Most FIU grad students tend to live in Kendall or Doral. The area around the campus is bad. Someone in my office lives alone in a 1BR in Kings Colony in Kendall (142nd ave) and she is happy there. The downside to Kendall and Doral is that they are very suburban with lots of traffic. Doral is nicer than Kendall overall. I do like South Miami though but you'll probably have to come in person to find a decent place there.