Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
    New User

Cool Any Miami/South Beach Locals to Share Some Wisdom?

Hello everyone! I'm Lisa. I am a newb on the forum, although I have been on here plenty reading a plethora of info on life in Miami. I wish I did more research on here when I first moved down! But I didn't, and low and behold, I have spent a whole year living in Doral (sigh). It has definitely been a learning experience for my boyfriend Andy and I, but boy are we ready to move many miles away from this congestion of craziness! Our destination of interest? The legendary South Beach...

Our reasons for wanting to move to the beach are quite simple. We're both in our mid-20's and want to enjoy ourselves. We love the beach. We love walking, riding bikes, and not driving whenever possible. We love small-town feels and local spots. We love character and the ever-changing setting. We love the island vibe in general. And we love the idea that we can let our creative juices flow! Andy's a musician and I'm a painter. Needless to say, the inspiration has not been abundant in our current local. We are looking for the action! We're looking for real life.

There are a few things influencing my practical brain as to whether or not moving to SoBe is right for us. First of all, I work in Coral Gables and Andy works in Key Biscayne. We both attend FIU main. So, I am definitely concerned about traffic leaving and returning the island. Although, Andy's commute to work now is so terrible with all the traffic , I doubt that SoBe to Key Biscayne is worse than Doral to anything. But it is still a concern as we don't want to spend so much money on gas anymore.