Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Jess

Thread: Recently moved to Miami, looking for a server job.

New User

Default Recently moved to Miami, looking for a server job.

Hi Guys,

My name is Demi and I moved to Miami about two months ago for school. I have been currently looking for a restaurant serving job and can't seem to snag an interview. I have over three years of experience in fine dining and fast paced restaurant environment and I believe I'm a good looking girl (even though I was quite shocked by how many job listings asked for my picture). I started excessively job hunting two weeks ago. Is it easier to get a job in a hotel or a restaurant? Does anyone have suggestions on how I get a job? I am currently looking for a job in Downtown Miami and South Beach.

Thank you,

Demi

Default Re: Recently moved to Miami, looking for a server job.

Hi Demi,

Unfortunately in Miami, it does matter how you look. It's not fair, but that's Miami. They are sizing you up as soon as you walk in with your resume. So definitely go out in full make up with your hair done to look for work. Go door to door, dressed professionally with 50 resumes and keep trying. If you like one place, go back. And go in the slow time, between meals. Your best bet is to keep trying, as people are so flaky here in Sobe, that you might get lucky and walk in just as someone is fired, and they need someone new.
    Matt Meltzer likes this.

New User

Thank you, good advice! Where do you suggest I look? I'm not big into nightclubs but I will work at a bar. Honestly, I would like to work at a semi-casual restaurant.

The 50 Eggs people, who run Khong River House and Yardbird, were having a hiring fair last week. You may want to hit them up to see if you can still apply.