Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Moving From Southern California to Miami Beach: June 2016

New User

Default Moving From Southern California to Miami Beach: June 2016

Hello,

My husband and I have been visiting Miami Beach since 1994, and next year we will finally be able to move there. We live in a suburb near San Diego and will be selling our house. We are trying to decide whether we should buy or rent a condo in Miami Beach. Our son will go to Miami Beach Senior High and will be in their Scholars Academy and IB program, so we need to live in Beach High's school district. We also want to be walking distance from the beach. Our daughter will be at Florida State and we will work from home.

We are interested in Mid-Beach condos, but we don't really know the differences among the buildings (significance of year built, HOA costs, etc.) and the neighborhoods. If we buy, we expect to spend $800,000 to $900,000. However, we are worried about the long-term real estate market in this area (and the effects of climate change in the future).

Any recommendations you have about buying vs. renting, buildings & neighborhoods in mid-beach (or north beach?) will be appreciated.

Thanks!
    Darlene

Default Re: Moving From Southern California to Miami Beach: June 2016

Quote Originally Posted by Darlene View Post
    Any recommendations you have about buying vs. renting, buildings & neighborhoods in mid-beach (or north beach?) will be appreciated.
    While you have a healthy budget, it would also determine the size of the place you are seeking.

I would highly recommend South of Fifth neighborhood in South Beach. Its a great area to walk around, very sought after, easy beach access, 5 star restaurants, etc.