Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New User

Default Need artsy, walking, small-town feel, diverse neighboorhood near FIU North

Hi there!

My husband is taking a faculty position at the FIU's North Campus on Biscayne Bay in North Miami. So we will be moving from our much hated tent in the bush in South Africa to Miami this summer (your summer). We need some help navigating your neighborhoods. I've been researching the area and reading many of the threads on the post and now need some advice about where we should live.

Get ready we have a long wish list.

We'd like to be within a 30 minute commute south of FIU's North Campus. We want to be in a community that feels like a small town, one where you can walk around to shop, go to the farmer's market, art galleries, theater, and community events. We might only get one car, so a walking neighborhood is pretty important. Suburbs are out. I'm an artist and would love to be in an artsy neighborhood. We are in our early 30's and don't have kids yet but plan to in a few years, so we would like to be in a neighborhood that does have some young families. We'd also like for our neighborhood to be diverse since we have lived or worked all over the world (Panama, Africa, Indonesia, Honduras) and enjoy being with people of different cultures. We're also pretty progressive thinkers politically and with regards to lifestyle (green), so it would be nice if we lived in a community that supported our choices. It would be really nice if we lived in a low crime area, but after living in the middle of Atlanta for six years we understand that is not really a possiblity. Also, we don't want to be in a high rise or a condo or an apartment. We really want to rent a cottage or a 2 bedroom house. We lived in a condo in Atlanta for six years. We just can't do it again. Congrats to all of y'all who do. After being in the middle of the bush for 2 years, we n