Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us

Default Colleges closest to Miami Beach

Not sure exactly what I want to go for, but was curious as to what colleges are the easiest to commute to from South Beach? I already have an associate of arts degree in liberal arts...the few that I have seriously contemplated on are Finance, Psychology, Marketing, Hospitality...any feedback?

Hospitality - FIU North Campus.

That's what I'm studying.

The rest... I'm sure you can study at FIU but it may be the South Campus which is far as (bleep) from the Beach! Buuuut.... on a positive note, you will be heading west in the morning against traffic and east in the afternoon against major traffic again.

The downside is the amount of tolls you pay daily! 5 tolls just for one day at school. (toll by 107 there and back, toll on 8th street there and back (unless you get off at 107 and save this toll) and toll plaza by Downtown on the way back only)

University of Miamiis your best bet for psychology or finance, and though expensive is not a horrible commute from South Beach.

Barry University is also not a bad drive, just up I-95.

Gus
    Somewhere between South Beach and South Miami

You can also study Marketing at the Miami Ad School located in South Beach on Alton Road.

For a career in the hospitality industry, I would recommend on-the-job-training.

To see a birds eye view of colleges and universities near Miami Beach, take a look at the map on the bottom of this page -

http://www.miamibeach411.com/directory/colleges.htm

Johnson & Wales isn't that far either, its near FIU's North Campus. They have hospitality, business and marketing.

If you are looking for a school with many choices, check out University of Miami or FIU. You could also do Miami-Dade College, Wolfson campus to get a feel for what you want to do and knock some electives out of the way first.

Suzanne C