Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New User

Default Finding work in a South Beach restaurant, bar

Hello,
    My name is Evelyne, i'm 25 and i'm from montreal Canada. I always wanted to spend some time in Miami and now the timing is just perfect. I'll be there on june first and will stay untill the end of august.

I'd like to find a job as a waitress or bartender (what's better?) in south beach. I was wondering if it was hard to get a job under the table in a good place. I have lots of experience in that business and i'm great at it , i don't wanna work for peanuts either!!!
    My english is excellent, i also speak italian and french of course : ))

Thank you in advance.
    Evelyne

Gus
    Somewhere between South Beach and South Miami

Hi Evelyn, thanks for posting your question. It's pretty easy to find a restaurant job in South Beach. Especially with your language skills. Have you seen this post "finding job as a waitress in Miami"?

I understand not wanting to work for peanuts. Here's a list of restaurants where you can make over $200 a night: Smith & Wollensky, Prime 112, Nemo, Tuscan Steak, China Grill, Blue Door, Social, Barton G., Tantra.

During your interview, I'd keep the part about only staying 3 months on the down-low.

Make sure you brush up on your wine knowledge. Do you know what a Mojito is?

I'd like to find a job as a waitress or bartender (what's better?)
    Restaurants offer better hours, but bars and clubs offer the potential to make A LOT MORE MONEY.

As far as working under the table, the restaurants where you can get away with that are typically the type of places where you will end up working for a tyrannical owner, making peanuts.

Does anyone know of other good restaurants in South Beach where a server can make big $$$?