Miami Beach 411
Like what you see? Let's talk about how
we can help your vacation --> Contact Us
    New User

Default Gay Couple Moving to South Beach

Hey Guys--

A friend of mine who lives in Miami recommended this site to me and I have found a lot of great information, but am left with a few questions.

My BF and I are moving to sobe on Jan 15. We will be there for vacation from Dec 29-Jan 5. This was supposed to be just a vacation, but we have gotten so tired of life in Phoenix, that we just decided to move to Miami. So when we get back from the trip we are packing up and moving out about a week later. We are going to find a place to live in sobe during our vacation.

My BF lived in sobe/Miami area for about 7 years and left sobe in 2006. He is a hair stylist does both color and styling and wants to find a high-end salon to work at and so sobe seams like the natural choice.

I on the other hand have a completely different trade. I'm a business guy. I have my bachelors from the University of Illinois, and my MBA from a international business school called Thunderbird. I lived in Spain for two years and speak fluent Spanish. I've done marketing, sales, and business development my whole life in a few different industries. I'm hoping to find a job appropriate for my education level, experience, and abilities, but I'm not sure where to start my search. BTW, i love Latin culture, and the opportunity to work with Latin American companies is extremely appealing.

So here's my questions:
    1. Where would be the best places for Kyle to look for high-end salons?

2. Where would be some opportunities for me? People to talk to? Any advice would be appreciated.
    BTW, we both are prepared to take bar jobs etc while trying to find full-time work.

3. Is the gay life still good in sobe? I've heard so much about everything moving to FLL and am wondering if my BF's memories of sob may be inaccurate.